Main content

Graham F. Carey Scholarship in Computational Science


The Graham F. Carey Scholarship in Computational Science was established by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System on December 16, 2011, to benefit The University of Texas Institute for Computational Engineering and Sciences (ICES). The endowment honors Dr. Graham F. Carey. Gift funds were provided by various donors. Dr. Carey died Friday, September 16, 2011, at the age of 66.

Dr. Graham F. Carey
Dr. Graham F. Carey

To honor the important work of Dr. Carey, a professor of aerospace engineering and engineering mechanics for ICES, ICES has established a scholarship for participants in its undergraduate certificate program.

Dr. Carey was born in Australia on Nov. 14, 1944. He earned his bachelor of science degree in applied mathematics with honors from the University of Queensland, Australia, in 1966. The Boeing Co. recruited him in 1968 to help develop the Boeing 747 and the lunar rover in Seattle. During that time he completed his master’s degree at the University of Washington. He left Boeing to pursue his PhD in aeronautics and astronautics, which he completed in 1974.

For three years he worked as a research assistant professor at the University of Washington’s Aerospace Research Laboratory and Center for Quantitative Science. In 1977 he joined the faculty at The University of Texas at Austin, where he served for 34 years until his death. Dr. Carey was director of the ICES Computational Fluid Dynamics Laboratory and holder of the Richard B. Curran Chair in Engineering.

Dr. Carey’s research and teaching activities primarily dealt with techniques in computational mechanics, particularly finite element methods and supercomputing. He was a prolific writer who published more than 250 papers in refereed journals and authored or co-authored 10 books. He served on the editorial boards of eight scientific journals.

His research was further recognized when he was elected a fellow of the International Association of Computational Mechanics, named to the W.J. Murray Centennial Teaching Fellowship in 1986, and received an Engineering Foundation Excellence Award and a high-performance computing “Gigaflop” award in 1989. His work continued to win accolades until the time of his death, when a paper he co-authored on porous media was named the outstanding paper of the year by the International Journal of Numerical Methods for Heat & Fluid Flow in April 2011.

His teaching was honored with the Ex-Students' Association 1995 Texas Excellence Teaching Award in the College of Engineering.

Share |