Main content

Roderick P. Hart Student Achievement Awards


The Roderick P. Hart Student Achievement Awards were established by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System in 2015 to benefit the Moody College of Communication. The endowment honors a former dean at the College of Communication, Roderick P. Hart.

Dr. Hart was one of the most successful deans in the history of the Moody College and is among its most renowned scholars and teachers. He has taught in the Communication Studies Department since 1979 and is the author of 12 books. He is a member of UT’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers and founded the Annette Strauss Institute for Civic Life, a research and outreach center committed to reversing civic and political apathy.

During his tenure as dean, from 2004 to 2015, the Moody College of Communication:

  • Secured the $50 million gift from the Moody Foundation, resulting in the largest endowment for the study of communication of any public university in the nation and the renaming of the college
  • Raised funds to construct the $55 million Belo Center for New Media, the foremost facility for the study of new and convergent media
  • Raised funds to renovate the Jesse H. Jones Communication Center, the historic home of the Moody College of Communication
  • Completed the $10 million campaign to establish the Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations

Hart received his B.A. from the University of Massachusetts and his master’s and doctoral degrees from Pennsylvania State University. A former Woodrow Wilson Fellow, Hart is listed in Who’s Who in Education and American Men and Women of Science. He was named a Research Fellow of the International Communication Association and the National Scholar of the Year by Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, and he received the Graber Book Award and the Edelman Career Award from the American Political Science Association.

The Roderick P. Hart Student Achievement Awards celebrate exceptional student works and will provide three awards annually in each department: one for undergraduates, one for master’s students, and one for doctoral students. Additionally, the awards provide stipends to graduate students assisting with long-term research projects in civic engagement.

Share |